Going Gluten Free: Foods You Should Avoid

Going Gluten Free: Foods you should avoid.

Individuals with celiac disease must exclude gluten from their diet since ingesting even the smallest amounts could cause symptoms. The response to a gluten-free diet is usually rapid. Once gluten is avoided, the brushlike surface of the small intestine and its absorptive function return to normal. We know that gluten can be found in wheat, rye, triticale, and barley, but what other foods contain gluten? We’ve put together the following list of foods that individuals with celiac disease should avoid.

  • Atta (chapatti flour)
  • Barley (flakes, flour, pearl)
  • Beer, ale, lager
  • Breading and bread stuffing
  • Brewers yeast
  • Bulgur
  • Communion wafers
  • Couscous
  • Croutons
  • Dinkel (also known as spelt) †
  • Durum †
  • Einkorn †
  • Emmer †
  • Farina
  • Farro or Faro (also known as spelt) †
  • Fu ‡
  • Graham flour
  • Hydrolyzed wheat protein
  • Kamut †
  • Malt, malt extract, malt syrup and malt flavouring
  • Malt vinegar
  • Malted milk
  • Matzoh, matzoh meal
  • Modified wheat starch
  • Oatmeal, oat bran, oat flour and whole oats ♦
  • Pastas
  • Rye bread and flour
  • Seitan ◊
  • Semolina
  • Spelt (also known as farro or faro, dinkel) †
  • Triticale
  • Wheat bran
  • Wheat flour
  • Wheat germ
  • Wheat starch

† These are all types of wheat

‡ Fu is a dried gluten product derived from wheat that is sold as thin sheets or thick round cakes. Used as a protein supplement in Asian dishes such as soups and vegetables.

♦ Oats are contaminated with wheat and barley, unless they are specially grown, harvested and processed.

◊ Seitan is a meat-like food derived from wheat gluten used in many vegetarian dishes; sometimes called “wheat meat”.


If there is something that we have left off this list, please let us know by leaving us a comment below. Additionally, don’t forget to sign up to our newsletter to have more information and healthy tips like this this sent directly to your email.